Support the LA Phil

Keep the music going. If you are able, please help the LA Phil continue to make programs like this one and impact lives through music education.

Bonus - EP1

Tchaikovsky’s “Souvenir de Florence”

This concert’s streaming date has passed. Enjoy its accompanying essay, interview, special performances and more below.

This episode was released on May 7th

  • About the Episode

About the episode

Played by members of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the third movement (scherzo) of Tchaikovsky’s String Sextet, “Souvenir de Florence,” features much of that quick interplay that makes chamber music so much fun for musicians to play. Despite the work’s nickname, this movement is Russian flavored, with dynamic folk-like melodies and rhythms

  • Nathan Cole

    Gabriela Peña-Kim


  • Ben Ullery

    Ingrid Hutman


  • Gloria Lum

    Jason Lippmann